Stars…

They say that we came from the Earth and we shall return to the Earth, but truly we came from the stars. We are, as they say in my favorite movie of all time, just star dust.

“Oh man! There is no planet, sun, or star could hold you, if you but knew what you are.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Because I grew up wanting to be a movie star I thought a lot about stars. What they truly are. To me a star is someone who sparkles, who shines a light that others follow. A star is someone who brightens the day for others. A star is someone who dares to dazzle people.

“There’s a whisper on the night-wind, there’s a star agleam to guide us. And the wild is calling, calling…let us go.”

I realized at some point or other that I might never become a star in the eyes of the media, but I can be a star in my own life. I can live every day as I choose instead of waiting for the moment when someone else tells me to live life that way. No one will ever make you a star – you have to do that yourself. You have to make your light shine so bright that others notice it. And if you want red carpets and champagne I believe you better treat yourself like someone who deserves that.

“Will you ever? I don’t think you will ever fully understand how you’ve touched my life and made me who I am. I don’t think you could ever know just how truly special you are that even on the darkest nights you are my brightest star.” – Erica Jong

Thank goodness for all the people before me that have made themselves into bright lights in this world. Thank goodness that I can turn to the wisdom of Da Vinci, the playfulness of Branson, the sarcasm of Wilde and the poetry of Shakespeare for inspiration. Thank goodness that they dared to be people that sparkled. No matter what people said they refused to dim their own light.

“He turns not back who is bound to a star.” – Leonardo Da Vinci

I’m somewhat tired today, because I have somewhat too many things on my to do list, but I still have a choice – I can go about my day with all the poise and serenity of a star, I can add that golden rim to my world, or I can rush around like a mad hatter. Somehow I prefer the added star sparkle…

“To be a star you must shine your own light, follow your own path, and don’t worry about the darkness, for that is when the stars shine brightest.”

Who’s on your personal walk of fame? I have quite a few people in my life that are on mine!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, dreams, Emerson, entrepreneurialism, Film, Hollywood, Joy, Life, Love, Personal Development, Thoughts, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

