Before sunrise…

To be quite honest I have gotten tired of my own thoughts – it’s the same old, same old, so now I’m stealing someone else’s. All is fair in love and…the war of the words…

Here’s my fav movie, well, snipets, at least!!!

Before Sunrise by Richard Linklater

(The setting: Jesse (Ethan Hawke) and Céline (Julie Delpy) meet on a train, in Vienna)

Jesse: Alright, uh, I had this idea, okay?

Céline: Um-hmm…

Jesse: For a television show. Some friends of mine are these cable access producers, do you know what that is, cable access? (Céline shakes her head) Umm, I dunno… Anybody can produce a show real cheap, and they have to put it on. Right? And I have this idea for this show that would last 24 hours a day for a year straight, right? What you do, is you get 365 people from cities all over the world, to do these 24-hour documents of real time, right, capturing life as its lived. Um, you know, it would start with uh, a guy waking up in the morning, and, uh, you know, taking the long shower, eating a little breakfast, making a little coffee, you know, and, uh, reading the paper.

Céline: Wait, wait. All those mundane, boring things everybody has to do everyday of their life?

Jesse: I was going to say the poetry of day to day life, but, (Céline starts laughing) you know, you say the way you say it, I’ll say it the way I say it…

Céline: (laughs) I like that.

Jesse: No listen, think about it like this…

Céline: Who’s gonna watch this?

Jesse: Well, alright, think about it like this. Why is it, that a dog, you know, sleeping in the sun, is so beautiful, you know, it is, it’s beautiful, you know, but a guy, standing at a bank machine, trying to take some money out, looks like a complete moron?

Céline: So, it’s like a National Geographic program, but on people?

Jesse: Yeah!

Céline: Hmm.

Jesse: What do you think?

Céline: Yeah, I can (laughs) I can (laughs) I can see it. Like twenty four boring hours, sorry, and like a three-minute sex scene, where he falls asleep right after, no?

Jesse: Yeah, you know I mean, and… I mean, that would be a great episode.

Céline: Yeah.

Jesse: So listen, so here’s the deal. This is what we should do. You should get off the train with me here in Vienna, and come check out the town.

Céline: What?

Jesse: Come on. It’ll be fun. Come on.

Céline: What would we do?

Jesse: Umm, I don’t know. All I know is I have to catch an Austrian Airlines flight tomorrow morning at 9:30, and I don’t really have enough money for a hotel, so I was just going to walk around, and it would be a lot more fun if you came with me. And if I turn out to be some kind of psycho, you know, you just get on the next train.

(Céline smiles, still unsure)

Jesse: Alright, alright. Think of it like this. Um, uh, jump ahead, ten, twenty years, okay, and you’re married. Only your marriage doesn’t have that same energy that it used to have, you know. You start to blame your husband. You start to think about all those guys you’ve met in your life, and what might have happened if you’d picked up with one of them, right? (Céline starts laughing a bit) Well, I’m one of those guys. That’s me, you know. So think of this as time travel, from then, to now, uh, to find out what you’re missing out on. See, what this really could be is a gigantic favor to both you and your future husband, to find out that you’re not missing out on anything. I’m just as big a loser as he is, totally unmotivated, totally boring, and, uh, you made the right choice, and you’re really happy (motions to towards the door).

Céline: (thinks) Let me get my bag.

Jesse: Well, it was a thought I had on the train, so…. Um… okay, alright. Um, Do you believe in reincarnation?

Céline: Yeah, yeah, its interesting.

Jesse: Most people, you know, a lot of people talk about the past lives, and things like that, you know, and even if they don’t believe in it in some specific way, you know, people have some kind of notion of an eternal soul, right.

Céline: Yeah.

Jesse: Okay. Well, this is my thought. 50,000 years ago, there are not even a million people on the planet. 10,000 years ago, there’s like 2,000,000 people on the planet. Now, there’s between 5 and 6 billion people on the planet, right? Now, if we all have our own, like, individual, unique soul, right, where do they all come from? Are modern souls only a fraction of the original souls? Because if they are, that represents a 5,000-to-1 split of each soul in just the last 50,000 years, which is like a blip in the earth’s time. You know, so, at best, we’re like these tiny fractions of people, you know, walking… I mean, is that why we’re all so scattered? You know, Is that why we’re all so specialized?

(I remember watching this film at fourteen and making a drawing in my diary to explain this…)

Gypsy: You are both stars, don’t forget. And the stars exploded billions of years ago, to form everything that is this world. Everything we know, is stardust. So don’t forget, you are stardust.

Jesse: Well, I went to this Quaker wedding once, and it was fantastic. What they do is the couple comes in and they kneel down in front of the whole congregation, and they just stare at each other, and nobody says a word unless they feel that God moves them to speak, or say something. And then after an hour or so, of just, uh, staring at each other, they’re married.

Céline: No, no, no, wait a minute. Talking seriously here. I mean, .. I, I always feel this pressure of being a strong and independent icon of womanhood, and without making… making it look my… my whole life is revolving around some guy. But loving someone, and being loved means so much to me. We always make fun of it and stuff. But isn’t everything we do in life a way to be loved a little more?

Céline: Yeah, but I had worked for this older man, and once he told me that he had spent all of his life thinking about his career and his work, and… he was 52 and it suddenly struck him that he had never really given anything of himself. His life was for no one, and nothing. He was almost crying saying that. You know, I believe if there’s any kind of God, it wouldn’t be in any of us. Not you, or me… but just this little space in between. If there’s any kind of magic in this world, it must be in the attempt of understanding someone, sharing something (sigh). I know, it’s almost impossible to succeed, but… who cares, really? The answer must be in the attempt.

Céline: So often in my life I’ve been with people, and shared beautiful moments like traveling, or staying up all night and watching the sunrise, and I knew those were special moments. But something was always wrong. I wished I’d been with someone else. (They both laugh) I knew that what I was feeling, exactly what was so important to me, they didn’t understand. But I’m happy to be with you.

Céline: It’s good. (pause) When you talked earlier about after a few years, how a couple begin to hate each other, by anticipating their reactions, or getting tired of their mannerisms. I think it would be the opposite for me. I think I could really fall in love when I know everything about someone. The way he’s gonna part his hair. Which shirt he’s gonna wear that day. Knowing the exact story he’d tell in a given situation. I’m sure that’s when I’d know I’m really in love.

2 Comments

Filed under Film, Humor, Inspiration, Joy, Life, Love, Men, Motivation, People, Relationship, relationships, Religion, sex, Thoughts, Uncategorized, Women, Writing

2 responses to “Before sunrise…

  1. storiesfromthestove

    I have a funny story for you. Is there an email address on this blog where I can send it?
    chashale1@yahoo.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

