Burning daylight…

Have you ever looked at a dying man and realized that it is you? It’s Monday morning and I am dying with every breath. Have you ever looked at a baby and realized that they have their whole life ahead of them, like a clean slate? It’s Monday morning and I have my whole life in front of me. It’s Monday morning, it’s summer holidays and I’m vacuum cleaning my life.

You know all these little ideas that you juggle in your mind that you know you either won’t execute, or won’t execute right now? Or the people you think about that you are sort of attracted to, but that you will never go out with? Or the people who are attractive, but would never go out with you? I have discovered my new golden word: commitment. If I am not committed to something, or someone isn’t committed to me – in the bin, now rather than later. If I am committed: what is it I need to do to make this idea, or relationship work out? What’s the plan? How can I commit to doing that right now?

Do you know the dreams you have, the wishes…that you just aren’t walking towards, or walking fast enough towards because you are avoiding dealing with some fear that’s blocking the way? “I’m too shy, I’m too weak, I’m too stupid, it’s too difficult, I can’t do that, if I do that they will think badly of me, I might get rejected, I might fail” …and the list goes on. I always think that if someone gave a person 24hrs to come up with a solution, or death would be the result, the person would find a way. Compared to death, most fears are very tiny. In the face of death most people get very resourceful. When left to their own devices a lot of people watch TV, because there’s always tomorrow.

When you do something you find out if it works, or if it doesn’t work and that knowledge sets you free, as you no longer have to waste time thinking about it. If you do something you may learn from it, but if you don’t do anything, you for sure won’t learn anything because there will be no feedback. My Buddha Bear told me that it’s all well to have spiritual ideas, but until you interact with life you will not find out whether you truly understood them or not. No action = no feedback.

The funny thing is, a life without fear is freedom and no matter what one fears, it either happens, or it doesn’t – you are going to live through it the undesired way, or the desired way – the only thing you can affect is how you think about it before, during and after. Why fret about it? Fears don’t really matter, unless as warning signals at times that really something isn’t a good idea.

Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without. – Buddha

His success may be great, but be it ever so great the wheel of fortune may turn again and bring him down into the dust. – Buddha

It’s sure as hell comfy to sit on the boat that drifts about aimlessly and never be responsible for anything, because you will never be blamed for anything, but do you ever reach a destination that way? We don’t know if we will reach whatever goal, but so long as we don’t pursue it…what fun is life? I may never reach Tahiti, so if I set sail tomorrow, but imagine what other wonderful places I will see along the way! There are likely to be storms too. That’s what people fear. But there are usually storms no matter what. All you can do is create a space within you that is calm, so if there’s a hurricane outside. And if you let go of your ego you can enjoy the whole journey and not just the achievements. You can’t control life, you can only explore, but so as to be able to explore, you have to move, or your whole life will be a dream that never happened.

Where I’ll end up is anyone’s guess, but where I put my feet down is up to me. What will happen is anyone’s guess, but how I deal with it is up to me. So now I’m off to walk my star-studded road – dance in the sunshine, laugh in the moonlight, love, eat strawberries and cream, swirl through my dreams, jump through the waves and sip in life like it was morning dew to the thirsty.

Jesse: So listen, so here’s the deal. This is what we should do. You should get off the train with me here in Vienna, and come check out the town.

Céline: What?

Jesse: Come on. It’ll be fun. Come on.

Céline: What would we do?

Jesse: Umm, I don’t know. All I know is I have to catch an Austrian Airlines flight tomorrow morning at 9:30, and I don’t really have enough money for a hotel, so I was just going to walk around, and it would be a lot more fun if you came with me. And if I turn out to be some kind of psycho, you know, you just get on the next train.

(Céline smiles, still unsure)

Jesse: Alright, alright. Think of it like this. Um, uh, jump ahead, ten, twenty years, okay, and you’re married. Only your marriage doesn’t have that same energy that it used to have, you know. You start to blame your husband. You start to think about all those guys you’ve met in your life, and what might have happened if you’d picked up with one of them, right? (Céline starts laughing a bit) Well, I’m one of those guys. That’s me, you know. So think of this as time travel, from then, to now, uh, to find out what you’re missing out on. See, what this really could be is a gigantic favor to both you and your future husband, to find out that you’re not missing out on anything. I’m just as big a loser as he is, totally unmotivated, totally boring, and, uh, you made the right choice, and you’re really happy (motions to towards the door).

Céline: (thinks) Let me get my bag.

– Before Sunrise

Leave a comment

Filed under Business, Courage, Dating, dreams, entrepreneurialism, Inspiration, Joy, Liberty, Life, Love, Motivation, People, Personal Development, Relationship, relationships, Self-confidence, Thoughts, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

