Being in love…

Have you ever fallen in love? So madly, irrevocably and irresistibly that it is simply unforgettable? I have fallen in love twice. The first time I was nineteen years old and I was traveling the world with a backpack. It was certainly not love at first sight. I kind of stumbled into love. I don’t know when it happened, not really. I just kind of wandered the streets and then one day I realized how happy I was. How attached I was. How high I was every day on that feeling of totally embracing something. Something so gorgeous you could almost cry, but you’d rather laugh. To this day I get tears in my eyes thinking about it and we all know by now that I’m not a crier.

The second time I fell in love I was twenty five. This time it was very different. I’d heard rumors. So I didn’t think I’d ever fall in love. The rumors weren’t all that good you see. Then, of course, events happened that made me want to find out for myself. And maybe because I was at a dead end, I simply decided that I was going to do it. Surrender to something new, something different. It was different, that’s for certain, yet it felt so familiar. Like I’d come home.

You know, I don’t know what made me fall in love with Paris. Maybe it was the alleyways around Les Jardins Du Luxembourg. Maybe it was the smell of fresh croissants in the mornings in Montmartre. Maybe it was the view of the city from Sacre Coeur at night. Maybe it was all the fresh markets, or sipping wine by the Seine, or my fav crêpes place, or Shakespeare & Co., or the sunrise by Notre Dame, or the big hand in the park by Les Halles, or the Christmas lights on Champs Elysees, or the sight of Le Louvre at night…I just don’t know. I do know that I still get tears in my eyes when I think of Paris. I miss her. A lot.

L.A. well, L.A. was so different, so unexpected. I thought I’d hate it, but when I met some nice people from here and my best friends said she was moving over here, I decided I’d check it out. I was certain I wanted to get out of London. I love L.A. so much, sooo much. It feels so obvious…like dah, you idiot, of course this is your town. The kooky places in the hills, the palm trees, the colorful flowers, the waves, the mountain tops…all the crazy artists and ego maniacs, mixed with health fanatics and spiritualists. I’m a sunshine girl. Although I’m all pro thunderstorms and the occasional snow storm, I like to wear a bikini, or at least a skirt and a top, 90% of the time. And they make movies in this town, they make magic. Well, at least one in a hundred has some magic in it. I’d like to believe in that magic. In that beauty in life.

I watched a movie today called Strictly Sexual, an indie flick, you can find it on Netflix. It was set in L.A. In the hills. It was a nice movie, but somewhat lacking in logic, like you know, when it lacks the glue to hold it all together. I really did enjoy it though and it made me think of L.A. and Paris…my two loves.

Have you ever been in love? What was it like? Did you stay in love, or did you change your mind?

L.A. life…but that’s only part of it…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Being in love…

  1. tbo

    Not sure it’s the same but what you define as love for Paris or LA reminds me of the extreme affinity or sense of belonging/ familiarity I’ve had in certain places. Personally I think in some cases it means you’ve lived there before in a previous life, or perhaps your ancestors did, one whom you resemble of have some kind of stronger connection to.
    Not always- I don’t think I’ve lived in the French Alps in a previous life but I am completely in love with them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

