What would you like it to say on your tombstone???…

It was a question in a game we were playing today and it kinda makes you reflect, doesn’t it? What would you like to be remembered for? What would you like your life to be about? What is it you are all about, truly?

On my stone I would like it to say: “She lived.” At least, that was the first thought that popped up in my head. I’m not sure if I would actually want that to be the text. I’m not even sure I want a tombstone. It feels limiting. What I mean though is that I want to live. I want to be free in my living. I want to live a life without self-imposed restrictions. I want to be fearless in my approach to life. I want to be as happy dancing with the stars as with the raindrops. I want to dare to live. I don’t want to think that life will start when and if and where. I want to live right now, fully here in every moment, because truly, who knows what’s next?

They say that all you really know is that you will die, but that’s not entirely true. Because you know you will die you also know that now you are alive. And as a human being, it seems to me you have a choice to explore that aliveness. Even when you taste drops of salt, you know that soon the sound of laughter will be coming out through your mouth. You can feel, you can taste, you can breathe. You are love when you experience it.

I don’t know, but to me there is a difference between being alive and truly living alive and to truly be able to live alive is what I would love to do.

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts

One response to “What would you like it to say on your tombstone???…

  1. tbo

    it’s so hard to “be alive” in the society they’ve built for us. We are incredibly privileged to live in such a comparatively civilized country in peaceful times, yet since humans usually feel most alive when they’re in the greatest peril, we constantly seek ways to simulate danger and excitement, through sports, or risky behavior. That’s why extreme sports are so popular in this day.
    No matter how much I enjoy a relaxing evening, peace and quiet, I have to admit that my most vivid, full-of-life memories are having narrowly escaped death or pain. lol, though there was that intensely memorable blow job once, perhaps more vivid a memory than sky-diving…? hmm

    Like

Leave a Reply

