Dance…

I saw you on the carousel

Going round and round

Spinning freely through the clouds

I wanted to laugh and dance and cry with someone

I wanted to fly high with someone

I wanted to move that freely knowing my own worth

I wanted to laugh without worries

I wanted to sing in the morning sun

I wanted to feel a peace I’d never felt

I wanted you to bring that to me

So I stood up

I climbed the ladder to the sky

I decided it wasn’t you, it was I

Who needed to help myself

Past my fear of heights

Freedom is thrilling

But by its gates stands thy own sweet enemy

Slay the dragon that is thou

Then dance

Because Gods have all too little mercy

And soon our vacation on Earth is over

So whilst you can dance

By Maria Montgomery

06b9d986f9ffedc95df6636794017b05

Image Source: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/507780926709569962/

Leave a comment

Filed under Freedom, Poem, poetry, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

